Beef and Kale Frittata

Looking for an easy breakfast that’ll give you some leftovers for a day or two? Once a week I usually make a quiche or frittata that will last me for a few of my night shifts so I have something to eat when those early morning cravings hit or when I wake up with hunger pangs there’s something ready right away for me to eat. I usually put bacon in my quiche or frittata… but since I am doing the Whole30 and can’t find or afford sugar and nitrate free bacon I’ve been experimenting with different meats. Ground beef makes a yummy frittata! (Can you tell I love the word frittata? count how many times I use the word frittata in this post)

image

You will need a cast iron skillet for this frittata recipe.

Ingredients:

1/2 pound lean ground beef (grass fed if you can get it!)

1/2 sweet onion, chopped (I like to use sweet onions in my recipes because they don’t make you cry as much)

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 large zucchini (shredded and drained of excess liquid with cheesecloth or paper towel)

A few kale leaves (washed, dried and cut up)

10 large organic eggs

1/4 cup coconut milk 

2 tbsp ghee, divided

salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Place the cast iron skillet on medium heat, melt ghee. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Add garlic and onion to pan and fry until onions are translucent. Then, using your hands, crumble the ground beef into the pan, sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook until you can’t see any more pink. Drain the fat. Place the beef in a bowl.

Add a bit more ghee to the skillet, and sautee the kale and zucchini for a couple of minutes, until the kale is wilted. Meanwhile, whisk the eggs together in a bowl with the coconut milk and sprinkle with salt and pepper and whatever other herbs you like. 

Then place the beef back in the pan. Then pour the eggs on top. They should just about cover the beef and kale. I don’t usually stir it at this point, but if you want to spread things out you can. Decrease the heat and leave on the element for about 5 minutes, don’t stir, to let the bottom set, until you see the edges are about cooked and the eggs are bubbling a bit in the middle. Then use an oven mitt and place the entire cast iron in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until the edges are golden. Let it sit for about 15 minutes, then slice it like a pizza and enjoy your frittata!

One thought on “Beef and Kale Frittata

  1. i laughed out loud at “sweet onions don’t make you cry as much.” i just imagined a regular onion taunting you. haha. you know when you’re so involved with your veggies that you start animating them? yep, that’s me.

Leave a comment