Day 1 of the 21 DSD

Although I have been preparing myself mentally to begin the 21 DSD on November 5th for MONTHS, I still somehow was not well enough prepared. I worked a 12 hour night shift on Day 1 of my 21 DSD and this made things a little difficult, considering I had not had much sleep. When I am tired… all I want is to eat, eat, eat, and eat. And it’s not that easy to eat while on the 21 DSD, you need to prepare all your food ahead of time because you can’t just eat anything.

I relied on my will power to get me through the shift and all went well.

Day 1 Meal Plan:

Breakfast: 2 scrambled eggs and 3 slices of oven baked bacon

Lunch: Almond coated chicken strips and spring mix salad with avocado and pumpkin seeds with balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

 DSC_0390 DSC_0391 DSC_0393

Recipe: Pound to tenderize 2 large chicken breasts, then cut into similar sized strips. Heat a large skillet to medium and melt 3 tbsp coconut oil. Make 2 bowls for dipping, one with 2 scrambled eggs, one with 1 cup almond flour mixed with 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon sea salt, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1 tsp paprika. Dip the strip in the egg, then cover with the flour mixture, then place in coconut oil and fry in skillet for 3 minutes on each side. Then place on a rack over an oven pan and place in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes. This makes them a bit crunchier and ensures they are thoroughly cooked. Delicious by themselves, in salad, with honey or ketchup.

Supper: Baked Spicy Salmon and coconut oil sauteed green cabbage (adjusted recipe from page 96 of the 21 dsd)

DSC_0401

Snacks: Raw Almonds, Sliced Green Apple, Coffee, 2 boiled eggs, green tea and lemon water

Mood: Cranky and tired, but happy to have survived! I made a promise to myself to be more prepared for future days.

Leave a Reply

