Day 6 of the 21 DSD

Despite the fact that I have been dreading the arrival of winter since the end of last winter, the first snow fall was so beautiful and I realized how much I missed the smell of snow. It got me excited for Christmas :). Image

Bonsai looking at me inquisitively. Image

Aspen being her dainty self.

Day 6 has been good, I finally made the 21 DSD unsweetened Ketchup  (page 214) that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. It is made in the slow cooker, for about 4 hours then placed in the food processor. I was very excited because it did look a lot like ketchup… But did not exactly taste like ketchup. I will still be using it, however, and I’m sure I’ll get used to it. Image

Day 6 Meal Plan: Breakfast: Scrambled eggs and spinach with bacon and 21 DSD ketchup Image

Lunch: Leftover Beef Stew

Supper: Grilled lemon chicken breast with roasted beets and spring mix salad Image

Snacks: Roasted butternut squash, green tea, 21 DSD apple cinnamon donut, green tip banana with 1 tbsp almond butter, carrot sticks, coffee

Mood: I slept from 9-5 and still woke up exhausted… this is likely due to the fact that I am working my 6th night shift in a row, and still have one more to go after this.

Of note, I have not been experiencing many of the warned about withdrawal symptoms that usually occur around this time of the sugar detox, this is likely due to the fact that I went through them back in February when I did the Whole 30. By day 4 I was ready to give up because I was incredibly fatigued, sore and had major headaches… But I sucked it up and after a week I was feeling fabulous. I have since cut out grains, legumes, preservatives and dairy and so I’m feeling this is why the sugar detox has not been too much of a shock to my system.

Leave a Reply

