Day 11 of the DSD

Half way done! Yay!

I have done a lot of baking and cooking over the last 2 days, some successes, some failures.

Let’s start off with a success…

Prosciutto wrapped egg cups. Heat oven to 375 degrees. Oil a muffin tin with coconut oil and place a slice of prosciutto in each cup. Meanwhile, melt coconut oil in a pan and sautee spinach, onion and red peppers. Whisk together 6 eggs with the cooked spinach, onion and red peppers and add sea salt, pepper and parsley. Pour the mixture into each cup separately and wrap the rest of the prosciutto over top. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

DSC_0496

Now a failure…

Apple Strudel Egg Muffins from the 21 DSD page 102

DSC_0489

Review: Unfortunately… I couldn’t even eat these. I had to throw them out.  I’m not sure what I was expecting, but the texture was off, it was like a wet sponge, and perhaps I don’t like the mixture of eggs and apples? It also took a while to make and used up a lot of my eggs which frustrated me.

Now a success!

Herb Crackers from page 183 of the 21 DSD

DSC_0491

I’ve made these before from a different blog called ZenBellyBlog. They are both basically the same concept, using mainly almond flour and eggs and whatever herbs you would like to add, then you make a dough out of it in roll it between parchment paper, then cut into shapes with a pizza cutter and bake in the oven.

My favourite way to eat these is with a bruschetta mix, zucchini hummus or guacamole. omnomnom.

Review: Fairly easy to make, if you want them a bit crispier either roll them out more thin or keep them in the oven a bit longer. They are really good for chip and cracker cravings!

Mood: Unfortunately the cravings are still present… I didn’t bring enough food to work and was very tempted by a bag of chips but I managed to resist, ‘only 10 more days’, I told myself!

Leave a Reply

