Day 14,15,16 of the 21 DSD

No, I have not given up on the 21 day sugar detox! I was just so incredibly busy (once again picked up overtime) that I did not have time to post.

Day 14 marked the end of two weeks and only one week left of the detox! I’m not even going to pretend that I remember what I ate over the last three days… but I do remember what I made thanks to my handy instagram account.

I don’t think the last three days were particularly hard. Perhaps because I was too busy to really be focusing on the detox or perhaps because after two weeks it becomes more part of your daily schedule. The cravings over the weekend had been really bad and I really wanted to have a drink so I avoided social situations. On Day 14 I had a couple of friends over (newly engaged couple :)) and I baked them some 21 DSD friendly treats and while they had some delicious Coffee Crisp Hot Chocolate with coconut milk I drank with my ginger green tea (I’m not going to force anyone to abide by the rules of the 21 day sugar detox just because I chose to do it).

Lemon Vanilla Meltaways from the 21 DSD book

DSC_0527

DSC_0529

review: Very tart and smooth, quite delicious! and easy to make 🙂 I had to finally splurge and buy the coconut butter but it is worth it.

Chocolate Almond Butter Cups from the 21 DSD book

DSC_0542

review: I have made these before but had added some honey to the recipe to make them more sweet. Needless to say these were a little more bitter and I added a bit more than a pinch of salt screwing them up entirely.

Apple Cinnamon Donuts from the 21 DSD book

review: This is probably my fourth time making these since starting the 21 day sugar detox… and they are just as good as the first time. This time I even made it a better treat by adding a coconut butter icing to them. omnomnomnom. I believe my guests liked them as well? It’s always hard to tell, because most people like to be polite when you make something for them… so they usually say it’s good even if it’s not.

on Day 15 I made Banana Almond Butter Muffins that were absolutely delicious. I used green bananas of course. I am very proud of myself I must say. I can’t take complete credit for them as I had been researching paleo banana loaf and muffin recipes and decided to mix them all together to make my own version. I will be posting a picture and recipe soon.

on Day 16 I made the Mexi Meatloaf from the 21 DSD book

DSC_0535

Review: Better than the last meatloaf I made… which was not edible. So that’s not saying too much. Perhaps I am just not a meatloaf type of person? It took a while to make, and I left it in the oven about 15 minutes longer than the book suggests because it did not look right. I followed the recipe almost perfectly and it did not look nearly as good as the one in the book. And I’m assuming didn’t taste as good as the one in the book either. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

