Day 19 of the 21 DSD

It’s funny how you learn from your mistakes… on day 18 I thought I had enough food to get me through my night shift, how wrong was I. I was starving by 4 am. So for Day 19 I decided to skim through the 21 DSD book and see what recipes I hadn’t tried yet and make something based on what I had in my kitchen.

For breakfast I made the root vegetable hash from the 21 Day Sugar Detox book by Diane Sanfilippo, and oh my goodness this was so good. As I mentionned before, one of the things I missed the most about the detox is sweet potatoes. Mainly because I ate them as a side dish almost every day, in particular as a sweet potato hash with my eggs and spinach. I can’t believe I hadn’t discovered this before day 19. Or perhaps I had but thought it wouldn’t be food? I didn’t have any parsnips but I did have some rutabaga so I grated up the rutabaga and carrots and cooked them in a frying pan with coconut oil. I added some cooked chopped up organic merguez sausage (spicy!) and added a green pepper ring fried egg on top. This might be a new favourite of mine! (picture to come).

DSC_0557

For lunch I had leftover Tomato Basil Quiche with Bacon and Spinach and for supper I had roasted brussel sprouts with 2 of the merguez sausages (From Quebec) with some of the root vegetable hash. I’m always so happy when trying something new turns out to be so delicious :). And for snacks I had a green tip banana with almond butter and a nutty baked apple (too much fruit intake for the 21 DSD, oh well, I was hungry).

Only 2 more days to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

