Whole30 – La Fin

Here we are, I finished my first Whole30.

I ordered the book by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig “It Starts With Food” at the beginning of my Whole30 and read it throughout my last two weeks. I learned a lot, and I think I will be able to use this knowledge and do it better next time.

I explored some new foods options, and learned breakfast doesn’t have to be eggs and bacon. I learned I do not NEED coffee when I wake up or at the beginning of a shift nor do I need to chew gum to get through my night shifts. I finally committed to finding and buying meat from a local, organic source, and buying grass fed beef. I also was able to get some bacon that is free of sugar and nitrates.

Although I didn’t see any drastic changes, I did see some changes.

Better Sleep: My insomnia is definitely much better than the last few months, although I still am not sleeping as soundly as I was a year ago it is much better. On top of eliminating alcohol and coffee, I also started taking a Magnesium, Zinc and B6 supplement before bedtime.

Better energy levels: I found I was better functioning off less sleep than I was previously, and this was without the help of coffee. I’m also not as hungry as often as I was before.

Better Hair: My scalp isn’t as dry and itchy as it has been all winter, and my hair feels softer and looks shinier.

Quick Healing: I went sledding and crashed into a tree during Week2 of the Whole30, my face was all scratched up and bleeding and I had a fat lip, within 3 days it had healed completely and no one could tell (with the help of applying coconut oil topically as well).

For a list of 30 reasons to do the Whole30, visit The Clothes Make the Girl blog: I scratched off about 18 of the 30.

http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2012/12/30/30-reasons-whole30/

As I finished reading the book, I realized it’s important to go into the Whole30 with no exact expectations. If you’re doing it simply to lose weight, or get rid of acne, or get rid of sugar cravings, or whatever, you might lose sight of what is important and miss out on the bigger picture.

I had previously done the 21 Day Sugar Detox to help with my acne, and I have to admit, it’s one of the main reasons I went into the Whole30 as well. Unfortunately, I have not seen much improvement. But this just tells me that there are other things I need to work on. I know my stress levels are high and my hormone levels are off because my sleeping patterns are a complete mess because of my shift work. Sometimes, a clean and healthy diet just can’t overcome the other things we do to our bodies. I know I should exercise more, I know I should go outdoors more, I know I should have a more regular sleeping pattern, I know I shouldn’t work overtime… these are things that I have learned I need to work on. Next Fall, after my sports season has finished (I’ve already paid and committed for the summer), I’m going to try to commit to a regular yoga routine.

When I started the Whole30 back in February with a friend of mine, I said to her “Just think about it, by the end of the 30 days it will be warmer outside and Spring will have arrived!” Boy, was I wrong. This winter has been incredibly long and dreary, and it takes a toll on people’s mental and physical health. I’m extremely excited for the spring and summer so I can start going outdoors more and go to the Farmer’s Markets for my produce.

As I said in a previous post, there’s nothing I’m going to jump to eating or drinking simply because I am done the Whole30. Although I do plan on drinking alcohol on St Patrick’s Day. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

